DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2023-11-24 - 12:45 p.m.

Thanksgiving was wonderful. We were all together and I did have to step away and cry on occasion but otherwise, it was a very happy event.

I didn't know if my brother's family was going to make it because they were all sick at the beginning of the week. So, I was thinking we would likely be postponing Thanksgiving and I would just go to my Mom's house and make a pot pie and an apple pie. But, Wednesday morning, I got the clear for full on Thanksgiving. I make the majority of the food so I was a bit of a struggle bus pulling all that together. But Chris and I finally arrived in Kzoo late on Wednesday night and I unpacked everything and then realized that had forgotten the most important thing. My baby brother's stuffing. So I had to halt all things and go to stupid Meijer. I could have gone in the morning but I was scared they would be sold out by then and I sure didn't want to have to make a loaf of bread on top of everything else. The stuffing requires freshly sautéd stuff and homemade broth and all the stuff. It's an ordeal. But he loves is. And I forgot it. So we set out to Meijer.

There were a few other things I needed and I tasked my Normy and my Chris to go grab some of it to speed up the process. But then *I* got sidetracked and held up the operation. I was looking for the stupid stuffing and some man called me over and asked me if I knew anything about about buying oil for frying a turkey because that was the only thing his brother had asked him to bring. Anyway, I laughed and told him that I was the last person he should ask about that. I told him that I have been a vegetarian for 50 years and that I am almost vegan (again) and he should probably find somebody else to talk to about frying a turkey. This started another conversation. He was very intrigued and said I looked healthy and strong and he didn't imagine that could happen on a vegetarian diet. So, of course, I had to lecture him a bit even though I had been on a mission to get the f out of there and get home. I found Chris and Norm, finally. And we went home and I got up early and started cooking. It was wonderful. Everybody always asks what vegetarians eat at Thanksgiving. And I've become irritated with the question in my later years. You dumb fucks...we eat everything you do except our turkey is in soy form. We had olives, deviled eggs, nuts and other stuff for snacking like stuffed mushrooms (only my sister and I eat them) and then for dinner we had mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, this fennel thing I make, stuffing, broccoli, Brussels, cranberry sauce, salad, Mac and cheese, the soy thing with the most delicious gravy my mother has ever made. And a plethora of other things. I didn't make rice this year because nobody really eats it. And my mom didn't make her corn thing that nobody eats but she did make the eggs and the gravy. My youngest nephew ate yogurt and a roll. And then we had apple pie (homemade) and pumpkin pie(from a box) . With ice cream.

Anyway, speaking of looking strong. I'm not. That back injury (it's almost healed!) ear stuff and falling and hurting my knee and general menopause stuff (it's so awful, get your uterus ripped out right now and just get this done with). It's been a lot. But I'm feeling much stronger these days. And it's a weird feeling because I realize just how weak I had become. And it feels weird now to be weak. I wake in the early am (not unusual) and watch dumb reels on the social media until I can fall asleep again. I've been watching pole dancing reels lately. And, omg, those women are strong, it's amazing. . And it motivates me to get physically strong. Now, somebody compel me to get mentally strong again. Jesus god. This life.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com