DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2023-11-20 - 11:52 a.m.

So, last night when I lied about my name to avoid any more social interaction than I had to, (see previous post) just to pick up a small pizza from a place half a mile down the street. I ended up walking into a huge scene in which I got fully involved. I was wearing my pajamas under my jeans and hoody and fully intended to just run in and pick up my $8 pizza and run back home and get in bed and sort my head out and relax for a damn second. I have a lot going on right now and this girl is about to have a meltdown. So the pizza thing seemed a reasonable comfort. If only it had worked out.

Normally, when I had a fucking job, I would have had the pizza delivered. Even if it is just half a mile away. But I'm holding on tightly to whatever money I do have until I procure a job (please let it be today). So I pulled my depressed self together, lied about my name to avoid having to talk to anybody and went down there to get my pizza.

And, when I walked in the door...lord, there was full on drama happening. There was already one girl crying behind the counter and another one was being screamed at by a fat woman with big hair and lots of jewelry I won't bother you with all the shit she was screaming because it was ridiculous. She was furious about a cheese bread mishap the other day and then she was furious about whatever order she had just picked up. Yeah, you get disgruntled customers in this business. But what was really wrong with this situation is that she was full on demeaning these girls. Telling them how stupid and ugly they were and screaming all of it. So now there are two girls crying behind the counter and I stood beside the crazy and said something like hey, you're not being a nice person, I think you should leave. But she just kept screaming. Then the little delivery girl came back from a delivery and saw the woman and went in back and got the manager and just then the woman's husband came in and dragged her out. It was all absurd. The little delivery girl is going to be a force. She weighs maybe 90 pounds and she's really pretty and maybe she's 18. But she walked in and saw two girls crying a cook scared out of his mind huddled in the corner and she just rolled her eyes and took care of it. I was very impressed. I'd hire her in a second.

Anyway. I then stayed there for a while talking to the girls, they were really distraught. They all gave me big hugs and cried on me. Then they finally asked me my name for my order and I was also distraught and forgot that I had a nom de plume and said Whisper and she looked at me weird and got confused and then I remembered that I was Mary. And then I did have to explain the whole thing. It was definitely not the evening I had planned. But I did finally end up in my bed eating my pizza.

Lesson learned. Don't cave to pizza cravings until you have a job and can afford to get it delivered.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com