DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2023-07-05 - 2:35 p.m.

As we all know, I hate the Fourth of July. Not for any determined reason other than fireworks can burn in hell and I hate that my schedule gets messed up and it's all just for a bunch of assholery. Anyway, yesterday Chris told me that his friend, Hodge, during the Woe v Wade overturning, when asked if she was going to a 4th party all their friends were going to said, "no, I'm not feeling very fucking patriotic right now". And, I feel you, Hodge. That's going to be what I say every year from now on.

The kitties and I shut ourselves in yesterday. I bought a bunch of my favorite takeout food from Kalamazoo and I refused to make any plans with people for the 4th. I had a hard Slub. My only rules were...do whatever you want and keep things alive. So I did have to go water the garden and feed the cats. And it was hot. Chris said I could come over and take a shower in the air conditioning at his house but I was in full on needing to introvert mode. So I stuck to my hot house and didn't answer the door or texts from any neighbors who were asking me to come over even if they did have pools and wine.

I'm exhausted.

Monday I went to Kalamazoo to take my mom to an appointment. I worked four doubles prior to that and a brunch (9-5) and then got home on Sunday and took a four hour nap. And then drove to Kalamazoo, got my mom to her appt, took my brother out for junk food, witnessed a big police takeover after some guy stabbed another guy, ran some errands, surprised my best friend for a quick fifteen minute visit, and then came home. But the construction. Good lord. My normal exit to get onto I69 was closed so I carried on I94. But that was all construction, too. So I bailed in Jackson and took the backroads to Fowlerville. It added half an hour to my trip but it was worth it, I suppose. I saw a weasel cross the street and saw a few towns I would actually like to visit at some point.

Other notable details of the trip...I'm still on this horrible menopause period. And I had to stop a lot just for the two hour drive there and then two hours back to tend to feminine hygiene stuff. My last stop before getting to Kalamazoo was in Marshall. The parking lot was full of out of state vehicles with kids spilling out of them. And grouchy dads. One I witnessed step in his own dogs shit and then went on a huge tirade about how much "this sucks". I also stopped at a gas station and saw a woman walk into the window twice. I should not have laughed as hard as I did.

On the way home, I happened to time my drive so that I was smack in the middle of the balloon fest in Battle Creek. Traffic and construction was awful but I exited so I could watch a little of it. (For free! And I didn't have to be around people!)I don't tend to like pointless and wasteful polluting things like hot air balloons...but I guess it was kind of nice to just watch 50+ things just drift and imagine the people in them were having a good time.)I then stopped at a a Meijer to procure more feminine hygiene products and, apparently, the world is out of tampons. Meijer didn't have any except a really expensive organic brand (which had a lot of plastic stuff involved) that I ended up having to buy. Today I went to Kroger and they also don't have any. WTF? Just so you all know. I'm going to be out hoarding all the tampons to get me through this next five years of weird menopause periods,

I also got to see a lot of fireworks on my backroads drive and didn't have to be mad about their noise. And, the weasel.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com