DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2002-02-10 - 9:13 a.m.

First day off since I got home from vacation. I slept for twelve hours and could have slept more had I not heard yet another round of banshee cries from my cats. So I woke up to investigate. Found an alien demon cat lurking by the food dishes. He comes in through the cat door. And he is the meanest cat I have ever encountered. Ever. He is a HUGE black cat whose body is nothing more than pounds and pounds of muscle. Even my cats are terrified of him and they aren't terrified of any cat that sneaks into their house. Usually they get a cat out of here in seconds. This morning they were all cowering. So I walk over to the cat to try to ease him out the door and the little mother f*c#er sprang on me. It was like an episode of Bugs Bunny when the Tazmanien Devil starts tearing shit up. And it hurt like nothing I have ever experienced. So I now have fifteen large, welted slashes on various parts of my body from this stupid ass cat. Pair these with the two bite marks on my collar bone which are bruised from yesterday when my cat Serendipikitty tried to grab my necklace and I look like I have been attacked by a lion.

The funniest thing about this mornings events was that my feelings were so hurt by that cat that I started sobbing. I mean, the wounds he inflicted hurt, but my feelings were irrevocably damamged. To think that something would intentionally hurt me just broke my heart. Have I been sheltered for too many years?

Today I am painting my kitchen. I have decided that I am moving. As soon as possible. I now must make my house sellable which means I need to replace the obnoxious colors with neutral. I've been looking for houses in Marquette which is all the way to the top of the upper peninsula. Within the next month I will be making the nine hour drive up there to look at homes. I'm worrying that I will follow my usual pattern though and never quite get around to doing this. I always get these great ideas and then never follow through. Mostly I don't follow through because there are just so many steps to take and I am the kind of person that skips steps. I am hasty and this sort of thing can't be done with step skipping. But I will paint today and I will paint tomorrow and I will paint until my house looks normal enough so people won't walk in and look around with confused faces. Also need to replace the floors in the house and that will be the step that will ultimately halt my progress because I will have to hire someone to do it and that requires effort. At least I know my shortcomings.

So these last couple weeks that I haven't really written have been filled with nothing exciting. Mostly I just work and then come home and sleep. I've been so tired. I guess the only thing that happened that would have made a good entry was an embarrassing episode with my fantasy boyfriend on Wednesday. I think I mentioned before that I can never say anything coherent to him, that I start blushing the moment I look at him and get all flustered. Still, I find myself having to talk to him daily because I just can't stay away from him. So on Wednesday when I went over to talk to him they were talking about taxidermy. He asked me if I wanted him to shoot my cats and have them stuffed and mounted and I stomped my foot and said, "How 'bout I mount you!" Needless to say, before I could see his reaction to that Freudian slip, I took off running with my face burning five million shades of red. Got to the waiters aisle, hit a wet patch on the floor and slammed into the cupboards knocking over a tray of coffee cups. It was not one of my shining moments. And then he didn't come in Thursday or Friday and I was afraid I had scared him off. But I did a little snooping and found out he was ice fishing in Cadillac.

So that's that. I'm off to paint now.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com