DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2002-01-20 - 7:24 a.m.

You know that big Barbie doll thing years ago? The thing where everone started getting irrate about Barbie's proportions because they believed it gave young girls the wrong impression of how women were supposed to look? Well, I was on that bandwagon too. I liked spouting off things like, "You know, with Barbies proportions she wouldn't even be able to walk if she were real." Well, for some reason this morning I started thinking about Barbie. Okay, it wasn't "for some reason", this morning I was checking myself out in the mirror to see how fat I've gotten during this ONE WEEK away from the gym....I even got my little tape measure out to make sure my waist hadn't grown. What I realized is that my obsession with my waist size has nothing to do with my earlier obsession with Barbie. In fact, it comes from two things which I think every child and adolescent should be familiar with. The first being Little House on the Prairie. It was my favorite show as a kid, I've seen every episode I'm sure and yet the only thing that remained with me from years of watching the show and reading the books is the fact that Charles could encircle Carolines waist with his hands and his fingers would meet. It was in one stupid episode, one little minute out of the show and I remember it still.

The second thing that made me aware of my waistline is Scarlett O'Hara's 18 inch waist. Since I was also obsessed with being a Southern Bell, I have always thought I need to have an eighteen inch waist. So.....I guess if I ever have children I don't need to keep them away from Barbie, I need to keep them away from classic TV and books.

Just another disturbing little note about my waist. I am a total romantic...I want the ultimate romance novel to happen to me. I keep waiting for my Prince Charming to show up, and in the meantime I'm afraid nothing else will be good enough. Somehow I came to the fantasy that the love of my life would be the man who could encircle my waist with his hands. This would also explain my obsession with hands, they being the first thing I really look at in a man. I love a man with big, beautiful hands. Of course, a man's long fingers would be good for more than just wrapping around my waist.....which leads me to an answer for turtleguy, yes, my fantasies do involve the visual....mostly just hands, hands, hands.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com