DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2002-01-22 - 3:14 p.m.

I am so very tan. I feel a small pit of guilt and remorse in my belly when I think about the wrinkles that will appear on my skin due to these two weeks of nothing but sunshine. But I think it's worth it. I'm truly relaxed and feel strangely fortified.

This morning my patio ritual was interrupted by a photo shoot of some sort. The vans and trailors were parked right in front of the house and all these "pretty" people were swarming around acting all pretentious and important. I wanted to kick them all. I tried to continue my reading but my eyes were inevitably drawn back to what they were doing. And what they were doing got me going off on another tangent.

I have been trying to explain for years that these people, these celebrities, models and just plain actors that everyone drools over and tries to emulate, are just normal people. The job of photographers, directors, makeup artists etc, is to make these people look as beautiful as possible. It is their intention to make people look as eye candyish as they can. Sex sells. I've often contended that if I spent two hours doing my hair and makeup, if I stuffed my bra, put on hoochie clothes and walked around in leg lengthening 5-inch heels, I could be the next Maria Carey or (insert your favorite hot mama here) sans the voice. We all could be. Well, for the record, all my blabbering about that is true. I saw a plain Jane girl with a less than perfect body transformed into a mysterious vixen today within the course of an hour. And I also watched them do about 75 takes of the same damn shot. Of course the girl is going to look perfect for heavens sake. Just makes me kind of mad that some poor girl is going to see that less than "perfect" girl in a magazine and want to be her not knowing that she really is her without the makeup, clothes and 75 shots of the same pose.

Going home in 4 days. Bittersweet. Ohhhhh how I miss my cats....and that's about it. I do miss the one moment in the evening when the sun sets over snow and things turn a deep blue and I miss how comfortable it is to sleep when it is freezing cold outside. Okay, I miss my coffee shop in the afternoon, and the comfort of going to the gym and my other routines. I miss my fantasy boyfriend and I miss my big white squishy bed....my blue room, my bathtub, my candles, QUIET. I guess I miss a lot....but I am also getting accustomed to this life of leisure, I'm even beginning to like the afternoon karaoke and I giggled today at an old woman who kept honking for her husband. God, please don't let me like Florida.

I'm off for a drink or two or three now.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com