DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2002-01-19 - 8:30 a.m.

The first time I ever came to Florida I was appalled by the landfills. Just seemingly innocuous hills that suspiciously jut from the otherwise flat landscape are actually huge mounds of garbage that they covered with dirt and planted grass and a few pathetic trees upon. My curiosity was piqued when I noticed the tangles of birds swarming the hills. Oh, and the pungent aroma of festering rot. Anyway, I came to find out that this is how they take care of their garbage. One good thing about it is that I now have a much larger awareness about garbage. Since then I have saved every single empty laundry detergent bottle with the intention of recycling them. I think at last count I had something like 163 bottles. And I haven't recycled them yet because I am just too lazy to uncover the recyling bin the garbage company supplied me with seven years ago. But that aside......as horrified as I was (am) with Florida's garbage solutions, it has come to my attention that it is fitting. This place is just a big dump for all kinds of shit. Garbage and people.

Yesterday on the way to the movies I saw a guy clobbering his kid on the street corner. This kid was probably five or so. I went for the door, my face smashed against the window like a rabid dog. J. stepped on it and I looked out the back window at the poor kid who never shed a tear. He was obviously used to this treatment.

At the grocery store I was run into on several occasions by errant grocery carts with a delusional person attached to the handles. Gee, nothing I like better than a grocery cart nipping at my heels. One woman was coming upon me with such speed that I had to careen out of her way. She looked over her shoulder and snapped, "I wouldn't have hit you." Yeah, right.

Waitresses are so rude down here I feel like spitting in their food.

People use their car horn as a way to communicate ANYTHING, even at five in the morning.

At the movies last night we pulled into a parking spot just as the woman in the spot next to us opened her car door. I waited for her to close her door so I could get out but she just looked at me and continued sitting there with her cell phone glued to her ear. I had to crawl out the drivers side door because she wouldn't move the fuck out of my way. It was unbelievable.

So we get into the theater, find a seat and start to relax a little. My nerves are already shot from witnessing the very public display of child abuse and the stupid cell phone woman who by the way, was screaming at her kids in the car all the while. With these things aside I managed to relax a little. We went to a movie that was not crowded. I think there were about twenty of us in the theater but that still didn't deter a group of people from sitting directly behind us. They commenced to start rattling their candy wrappers, shaking their drinks and talking. What is it with people anyway? They want to kill me at the tender age of 28? Anyway, once the movie started they chilled on the noise level...until...the guy sitting right behind me started chewing. First of all he sounded like he was trying to gnaw into a rock, second of all he sounded like he was trying to suck all the liquid from the rock and third of all he smacked his lips with every chewing motion he made trying to devour this rock. It was horrendous. I had no problem telling those kids to shut up a few weeks ago but I just couldn't find it in my heart to tell a seventy year old man to get some manners and chew like a human being. So we moved. Only to be kicked the rest of the movie by a kid who was too young to be out that late and who was eating mass quantities of candy for the whole two hour movie.

This state needs to be gated. And we need to get the kids and the animals out of here.

I guess I should have known this state was extremely screwed up years ago. Any state that has catchy little tunes that stay in my head forever for their ever popular cosmetic surgery centers should be condemned.

I have to go shoot the jack-ass outside who has been wiping the dew from his car windows for the last twenty minutes and is now honking in two second intervals for his wife.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com