DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2023-12-31 - 5:02 p.m.

I went on my first date with Chris on 12/17/22. We have not stopped talking since then. He's the funniest person I've ever met and, at the same time, the most calm and rational person I've ever met. He's the antithesis of me (well, I do think I'm pretty funny).

Anyway. I met him because of a temper tantrum (see antithesis). I was in a hospital room with my mom who was having surgery and the person I was madly in love with (I still am and always will be) wrote a diaryland entry that didn't make it sound as though he was in love with me and posted it just as my mom was being wheeled away. Because I am who I am, I immediately screamed, "fuck this" and joined a dating site while eating a hospital cafe muffin and sucking down stale coffee.

Within six minutes, Chris had responded and said he lived in my town, too, and that our favorite breakfast restaurant was the same. So we met there on 12/17 and it's been non stop since then. I did keep him at bay for quite some time. I DID NOT want a boyfriend. But we talked non stop, every day. We went to dinner and took walks and sometime, around April, I told him I wanted him to be my official boyfriend. And now he basically spends most nights. He lives about half a mile from my house, so that's been really nice. We can walk to and fro and in winter, it's just half a mile of snow driving. I like having him at my house, he's trained on the cat feeding schedule and how to make my bed in the proper layers. He brings me food and coffee and goes to a special pet store on his way home from work to get Rudy Alan's favorite food and he buys cases of Fancy Feast for Daisy. I don't even ask, he just does. And he's the kindest person I've ever known. He's been through some shit in his life, he's been in pieces. But he put those pieces together to create a person who is understanding, kind, intuitive, hilarious, and forgiving. He's amazing.

Anyway...a year ago, on New Year's Eve, we had our first kiss right at midnight. It was crazy. I had been planning the whole thing to have our first kiss at the New Year. I had to work that night. And, good lord, we closed the kitchen and locked the doors and gave last call at 10. But we had people still sipping drinks. And the law of the land is...let them finish them. I got all my sidework, paperwork and stocking done and they were still sitting there, sipping. I was in pure panic mode. I'm not exactly sure why I was so dead set on our first kiss being at exactly midnight of the new year, but I was. I left that restaurant at 11:38 and I drove way faster than I should have to get back to Milford. I walked in his door within seconds of the clock ticking midnight. I think it was 11:58 when I came rushing in. He was, of course, as calm as could be but he did grab me and kiss me right at midnight. And, the rest is history.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com