DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2023-12-25 - 2:09 p.m.

I fucking hate Christmas. I hate every single thing about it except for Christmas lights and the fact that everything is closed and I can take a walk and there aren't a billion cars driving down the road or a billion people about. I take my Christmas walk around 1:00, when most families are all settled in to their Christmas whatever the fuckness and I can get a little peace.

Today, I am making Borscht. And some broccoli recipe I saw on line during my usual pre dawn insomnia/hot flash attack. So I'm trying to be a little festive...you know, red and green and all that crap. I made a loaf of bread and I'm going to sit in bed and watch Love Actually and eat my soup and a heavily butter slathered piece of garlic bread. I made the cats a chicken dinner.

But before I do that. I have to go to my boyfriend's house for his family Christmas. They started, of course, at one. But I discussed how I hate Christmas and I certainly don't want to eat a meal with a turkey in the middle of the table (though I don't say that out loud, to each their own, I just don't like looking at carcass and this turkey has been thawing for days and I've had enough with it in my line of vision). I think he was hurt that I wasn't going to come over. So I told him I would come over for dessert as long as I could wear my Bah Humbug Oscar the Grouch shirt. I will eat the requisite dessert and then return to my bed and stain my sheets with beet blood that I will surely spill all over them.

Anyway. One of my favorite Christmas was the first (or maybe second)year Eric and I were in Spain. We didn't have family there (except the cats) and we decorated a little tree and I made eggs Benedict and potatoes for breakfast and he went out and got newspapers and I made fires in the fireplaces and we just hung around all day without any sort of commitments. Then I made risotto and he made a big salad for dinner and we watched movies for the rest of the night with the fireplace roaring, kitties piled on us (Bae Bae was on his box next to us). It was fantastic. Prior to that...of course I miss and loved the Christmas celebrations I had with my family. We all lived within miles of one another and I would make quiche and muffins and fruit salad and we would just open presents and sit around with my mother's damn dancing Santa thing going off in the background.

Sigh.

Anyway, l despise Christmas now. Living across this state from my mom and baby brother and living two states from my brother and family and working in the restaurant world where you are normally paralyzed from mental and physical exhaustion on Christmas...I canceled it. Long ago. No driving around the world for me any more. I'm putting my bah humbug shirt on and going to go eat a bunch of cookies and get out as soon as possible. I have a movie quequed up and a pot of soup to eat.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com