DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2023-10-23 - 12:53 p.m.

Breakfast time in this household is intense. Daisy May will get right in my face while I'm sound asleep and let me know she's ready for her first breakfast. So I stumble up the stairs and give her the first can of her 8 a day addiction and refill any of the "cereal" bowls that need to be refilled. (Cereal is the term my family uses for dry cat food). I open the cat door and I get back in bed, do the damn wordle and social media for a bit and go back to sleep. This all occurs around 5 in the morning.

Then...a few hours later, I have a Daisy on my chest again demanding more Fancy Feast. She's basically the restaurant manager of this house. The other cats are ready for their morning vittles at this point and she lets me know. So, this is where it gets intense. I have thirteen cats. And it's a frenzy for the wet food and treats. (They always have their cereal, these cats aren't deprived, just spoiled).

So...this is how it goes down. I get out of bed. And I have ten cats rushing up the stairs in front of me (I carry Beaker, I have always carried him with me since he was a kitten fifteen years ago and Coco stays on her heating pad in bed for a bit, she isn't dumb and waits for the rush to be over. And Oiseau is usually outside still, he and Coco like to eat in non frenzy).

These cats are going to kill me on the breakfast trek. It's a herd and I have to navigate upstairs while I'm still half asleep and it's treacherous as F. I put Beaker on a cat tower and give him a pile of treats and quickly move on to the others.

They all like different food. I'll drop the cans of fancy feast and Friskies first and then I move on to Lou, Navin, Rudy, Potato Alan and Patootamus. They like the good shit. Navin only eats chicken, Rudy, Potato and Tooty like this really expensive stuff and Lou needs at least three things presented to him before he decides. He also needs an egg yolk whipped with warm water and a plate of nutritional yeast. Then, Coco saunters in to take the place of Demasiado on the chair (they all have certain spots) once he's done. She's not picky, she'll eat anything but it's still, yet another, can to open. Then she goes back to her heating pad, Daisy demands another can of food and in walks Oiseau. He will only eat on the chair, like Coco and Ado. And he's very regal and very picky. He has two foods he will eat and both have to be mixed up with warm water. And he needs a pile of treats. And a good pile of shredded cheese.

This all happens in about a ten minute flurry. And I still haven't had coffee or gone to the bathroom, even. It really is a flurry. These cats are lucky that I know how to give efficient service despite my own needs.

Anyway, the whole reason I'm writing this post is because, although I'm good with my new job (still looking for another), starting a new job is difficult, as we all know, no matter how "easy" it is. And I have the Mama drama and a couple aging cats who are putting a lot of anxiety in me. Last week was crazy busy for me with the cats and tasks and learning new stuff and trying to mesh with new people and all the blah blah blahs. This this week, I have Monday and Tuesday off and I have no obligations and I was going to seal myself into my house and eat food and take baths and get myself in order. Except, I forgot to buy Daisy more Fancy Feast. So I have to go out today since she just ate the last can. And because I have to go out in the world, I made a list of a bunch of other stuff I need to tend to. Including grocery shopping. Which is kind of sucky because I've been living on Taco Bell (they brought in a limited vegan cheese sauce) for a couple weeks. I'm not a fast food person but I do want to put my support in for the vegan movement. So,I'm pretty much fueled by the Taco Bell vegan menu at this moment and that's been awesome. I haven't had to really make any food for myself in the last few weeks. But I suppose it's time to start making healthy food again for myself. In my mission to restart life, I'm trying to eat or use everything in my fridge, cupboards so I can start clean but not waste. But I need to go grocery shopping. I need some tofu and fresh vegetables.

Edit: I ended up at Taco Bell. My intention was to go to the pet store and then Kroger and run a couple other errands. But what really happened was that I saw Taco Bell on my way to the pet store and I stopped and got my burrito, vegan cheese and, gasp, ice water in a plastic cup with a straw. I don't know what's happening to me. I had good intentions. I was going to eat the Taco Bell later tonight after I had my running around accomplished. But what really happened? I ate my Taco Bell in my car at Pet Supplies Plus. And went home to get in the bath to wash my sins off. (Also, these hot flashes make me, ironically, so cold.) I got the beast her food and she scarfed down can number six just a minute ago. Two more to go.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com