DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2023-10-22 - 1:55 p.m.

In an attempt to put my house and life back in order so I can have a healthy relationship with Chris and with myself, I unearthed a box of pink hair dye while cleaning out a kitchen cupboard.

When the lockdown went down in 2020, I was like, fuck it, I'm dying my hair pink. I was jealous of all the young girls I worked with who had all sorts of hues. I'm from a generation of restaurant workers who weren't even allowed to have nose piercings. If you had walked into work with pink hair (in Michigan) back in 1990, you would have been sent home or fired. Anyway. I like pink hair. And I did it once during the shut down. And loved it. I bought another box but didn't use it. It's been shoved in the back of the cupboard for years. Yesterday, I decided to use it.

First off, you're supposed to bleach your hair. Which I didn't do. So I fucked that part up. You can kind of see some pink glimmers in my gray spots, otherwise, my hair just took on a weird tone of brown/pink.

I was in a bit of a hurry when I started this operation. I had cat chores to tend to and laundry to wash and I've been searching for a lens that fell out of my glasses and you know, just generally trying to pull this shit together (as per usual). So I put the dye in and went about my business for half an hour. I did it blind. I wasn't in front of a mirror (hurry) and I didn't wear gloves for the application. It was impulsive, the whole thing.

Half an hour later? Yeah, I looked in the mirror before getting in the shower and I had a bunch of bright pink spots around my neck that looked like hickeys. And my palms were bright pink. I ended up having to use dawn dishsoap and a green kitchen scrubby thing over the course of way longer than I usually shower to get it all off of me.

And my hair is a very weird color now.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com