DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2023-09-21 - 2:13 p.m.

My mother, going through terminal cancer and all sorts of things (you can't even believe what has been put on her plate), has been diligent about her goal about getting her master's degree. Not only did she deal with my shenanigans last year and also went into a huge health crisis of her own, huge. Then my little brother's dad died and that's a big fiasco and yet...and, yet...she is getting her master's degree. And she has remained vigilant in seeing her grandchildren and tending to her children. While dying and working on a master's degree. I can't even with this woman. When she called this morning to tell me she only had more paper to write and she had her master's, I started sobbing and I haven't stopped since. I have to go to work in a bit so I'm trying to stop crying. But I don't think I can. I'm probably going to spend most of my work night downstairs eating chips and salsa and ice cream (don't worry, I won't let my bar guests down, they'll get their food and drink...but I probably won't be very talkative tonight.).

Anyway. I think it's kind of funny that I come from a family who is very scholarly.All sides. My biological father is an PhD for the love of god. All of them are very well educated. And, yet, I hate school. I don't think you could pay me to go. I've tried and I've hated it. On multiple occasions. My brother was the fucking valedictorian of his college. I truly hate going to classes. And I can't understand any of my family for actually getting excited about it.

But I'm very excited for my mom. She's amazing. This is a BIG thing.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com