DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2023-07-26 - 3:12 p.m.

My grandmother used to file and paint her nails at least every few days. This was long before manicures were a thing. She would sit at the dining room table and tend to her nails. I loved my Oma more than it seems possible to love anybody and I would follow her to any end of earth. So I got obsessed with my fingernails and, until I was around 25 years old, I had the most gorgeous nails of any person. I'm not kidding. Gorgeous. Not fake. No manicures other than what I did sitting at my own dining room table.

Then I decided to go to school to become a massage therapist. And you had to cut your nails. It was very traumatic for me. But I did it. It was like taking a limb off me. Anyway, I got used to not having pretty fingernails since then. I just cut them short and carry on. Sometimes I'll polish them if I have a wedding to go to or something. But, mostly, for the last 25 years, it's just been blunt cut, unpolished nails on these fingers. Very utilitarian. And it was fine.

But I've decided to have my hot girl summer.

So I've been growing my nails out and sitting at my dining room table and filing them and painting them every few days. And they are fantastic. I should probably just go get a manicure (I've never had one) but it's really nice to just sit down and tend to my nails and think about my Oma...and my hot girl summer (which I'm still not really attempting).

Anyway. I worked a fuck ton of hours again last week. I'm so tired. And Matt has concluded his market season he just lets all the plants that are leftover, die. So I go into a frenzy of trying to plant as much of it as I can. So that just adds another chore onto my roster. I've been watering it all and keeping it alive. Which is basically my motto for everything right now. Just keep things alive.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com