DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2022-10-28 - 11:45 p.m.

I worked a long day today. It was rife with chaos and drama that was not necessary. Mostly caused by a five top of women who all shared meals and made a bunch of subs and additions and demands about said meals and their drink orders were almost so absurd that I thought I was being punked ("I need an entire lemon, a big one, muddled in a pint glass with about eight mint leaves and three slices of cucumber then add 2 ounces of vodka and then the ice and top with water. And I'll need another whole lemon for my water (shoves water glass to me) but I need it with no ice.") That's how they were their entire stay. And at the end they wanted the five bills divided in ludicrous ways. Like, divide that espresso martini between these three checks and the shrimp on these two checks and then the salad split that five ways...I finally told them I didn't have time to do all of that. We quite literally had a line of people down the road and I couldn't even get back in the restaurant (I was the patio section) because the front door was absolutely packed with people. I had to walk around the building and to the back and go in the delivery entrance in the kitchen to even get into the restaurant. I swear I walked at least 60 miles today. I'm not even exaggerating. I didn't stop walking for 12 hours. I'm finally home and I just went to the bathroom for the first time since 11am. I may or may not be sitting naked in the middle of the dining room because I simply cannot move any further (I am). Sleep will be good tonight.

Anyway. I have some things I want to talk about. My car (I love her). My lack of shoes for winter (all I have are my work shoes and my gross house sandals). How much I'm looking forward to NaNoWriMo this year. Amazon delivery. Oatmeal. Animals. How much better work is getting. The weird sickness I had last week. How in love I am. And the odd "compliments" I've been getting about my hair lately. I went to the doctor with my mother yesterday. The nurse finished her questions and check in with my mom and then turned to me and very earnestly said, "I love how your hair matches your shirt." Like, you could tell that she was giving me a profound compliment but it was very odd. Later, after my mom and I were back home, I looked at myself in the mirror for a really long time and could absolutely not figure out what that nurse was talking about. I had a maroon shirt on. My hair is definitely not maroon. And I had just gotten out of bed that morning when my mom said she wasn't feeling well and I grabbed my coffee and threw on clothes (and my pink house sandals) and drove 2 hours to take her to the doctor. So my hair was a spectacle. I think I've only had it cut professionally once in the last 3 years. She's become a thing of her own. I don't even argue with her anymore or try to cajole her into civilized servitude. My hair is a many faceted being. And I know she wasn't at her best yesterday. So then I wondered if the nurse meant my shirt was dingy and wild or what. Anyway, I asked my mom and she had thought it was an odd compliment, too. So now we are saying to one another, complimentary, "I love how your hair matches your shirt." I accidentally said it out loud to one of my coworkers today because she looked really pretty today. Then I had to explain myself and now I'm pretty sure we're all saying, "I love how your hair matches your shirt."

Anyway, I made $500 today, walked 60 miles, my hair might be nice and I'm going to put some clothes on and go to bed.

Kitties are great.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com