DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2002-01-13 - 12:25 p.m.

1/12/2002 3 am

AHHHH�hello. I am writing this as we speed down a barren highway at eighty miles per hour. I�m just going to write little tid-bits here and there and then post this when I get access to the internet.

We are now on hour eight of a twenty two hour drive and I am on my 59th ounce of coffee and about my 63rd ounce of water. We�ve had to stop twice already due to my compulsive drinking habits. It�s a damn good thing I like water and coffee better than alcohol. Anyway, we are just getting ready to stop for the third time which leads me to remember that a few years ago on a road trip it came to my attention that I should write a book listing the best gas station restrooms on popular travel routes. I wish I had already written that book because I have already been in two very disgusting and inconvenient restrooms on this trip and I would really like to stop at a place that I can enjoy my bathroom time a little instead of trying not to throw up as I look at the remnants of other peoples bathroom breaks... The first place we stopped had specks of fecal matter encrusted on the walls, the second had stalls so small that the toilet paper holder extended out of the wall and rested nearly on my knees as I sat there. It�s a good thing I am not a heavy person, if my thighs were even an inch larger I wouldn�t have been able to use the bathroom.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1/12/2002 9 a.m.

Normally we make this trip straight through; however, due to a schizophrenic episode I had on Thursday, we ended up having to stop for the night. We left Michigan a lot later than we had planned because I just wouldn�t or couldn�t make a decision as to whether or not I was coming. I made a pretty adamant decision on Thursday that I wasn�t coming... I decided that it was very irresponsible for me to leave for eighteen days, irresponsible financially because I am, after all ,a mere waitress and while I probably make more than the average office worker, I still should not act like the jet setter that I do. I take at least three vacations a year and take several three day weekends to travel up north or to Iowa. And irresponsible because I have a lot of work to do on my house and instead of going 1500 miles away to sit on a beach, I should be taking this time to get some things finished. Anyway, as adamant as I was about not going, I still hadn�t made a definite decision. I was waiting for a sign, which never came. Instead I had to make the decision based on levels of guilt. The level of guilt I would feel if I didn�t go would be much heavier than the level of guilt I would experience by just going. As long as I accomplish something while I�m away I should manage to keep the guilt to a minimum.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1/12/2002 1:32 p.m.

Me- �I love Prince.�

Jon- �What do you think Prince will look like when he is sixty five?�

Me-� I don�t even know what he looks like now, I haven�t seen him in years.�

Jon,- �Well, he looks like Elizabeth Taylor but skinnier and black.

1/13/2002 5:00

So, I am here. Had a great day. Very glad I made this choice. I do have one bit of advice however; Recently shaved legs and bikini areas do not mix well with salt water......I'll write more tomorrow when I get into a routine down here. I certainly hope people intend to keep up with their diaries for the next two weeks so I can have some entertainment and diversion from the beach.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com