DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2001-12-04 - 10:45 a.m.

So I am sitting here, happily typing along, short story coming along very well, and I get this craving for fresh squeezed orange juice. So I hobble (my leg was asleep) into the kitchen, squeeze the juice from four oranges and then it occurs to me that I really don't understand what orange juice concentrate is. I didn't have to add any water or anything to the juice I squeezed so how could it be anymore concentrated than it is when it is directly from the orange? Then I think, "Maybe they reduce it with heat." See, I am thinking about that frozen goop you buy in the little can that you have to add water to. So, I squeeze the juice from four more oranges and boil it until it is reduced. Still nothing except there is far less liquid than before and it is all mostly pulp. So, will someone please explain "concentrate" to me?

Thanks.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com