DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2023-02-05 - 8:33 a.m.

This is the first Sunday I haven't worked brunch in a good, long while. And it feels kind of great even though the reason I'm not working is because I have completely lost my voice. I worked last night but just stayed at the service bar making drinks for the servers and interacting as little as possible with the bar guests. Which was, actually, pretty wonderful. But, I can't get away with doing that very often. Today I was scheduled as a server and there is no way I could make that job work having no voice. So I got the day off. My big plans for an unexpected day off when I don't exactly feel well and I can't talk? I'm going to go to urgent care in a bit (bloody green snot elicits a trip to urgent care. I'm due for a good round of antibiotics, anyway, it's been more years than I can remember since I've had any) and then to the grocery store to buy ice cream and broccoli. And then I'm finally going to dive into a book someone gifted me on my birthday while we were tucked away together in New Orleans. And, I'm going to eat the soup I made for that someone last week. I properly canned it and intended to send it to him but I've been too lazy (well, busy) to get to the post office which turned out fortuitous because I need soup today and I'm glad I have it.

Last night when I got home from work at 1 am, I knew I had to eat. My food situation has become pretty amazing because of the fact that I never want to eat. I have to really trick myself into doing it. I've always been a good cook but I'm becoming a bit amazing now. Yesterday, for lunch, it took me ten minutes to make a grilled portobello sandwich with grilled zucchini and peppers, quick pickled onion (only a couple because I hate onions but sometimes love the flavor), avocado and tomato on a pretzel roll with melted cheese burned around the edges and Dijon. I should be a line cook. I'm fast and my stuff is perfect. My grilled veggies had fancy pepper and garlic and the whole thing was a masterpiece and it really just took ten minutes from start to finish. Anyway, last night when I got home, I knew I needed some food. I ate a cucumber I had sliced and packed in a plastic bag and shoved in my purse while at work and that was it and after a busy 8 hours of nonstop work, I was hungry. But not thrilled about it. So I put some water on to boil, threw some noodles in and went to wash my face. I came back and the noodles weren't done yet so, I made a quick peanut sauce, crushed some peanuts and steamed some broccoli and in a total of fifteen minutes I had an amazing meal. And I'm pretty sure I'll be eating peanut noodles with broccoli for the next couple weeks. Hence, my grocery list of ice cream and broccoli.

So that is all. My little cat Beaker was so happy to see me last night and he's been glued to me since I got home so I think he's going to be glad that I have hardly anything to do today except read and eat soup in bed.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com