DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2022-12-11 - 12:39 p.m.

I was just talking with my mother. Her computer died because she spilled tea on it (I feel that my tendencies are genetically substantiated...I short something out weekly by spilling something on it). I'm heading to Kalamazoo this afternoon to see her and I told her I would leave my computer with her for a couple weeks while this is all being sorted. She says, no, no, no...she doesn't want me to be without my computer for a week. But, honestly, I don't use it. It's a device on which I watch dumb TV shows or dumb movies. And I have a tablet and an actual TV on which I can do both so it's really no worry.

Everything else, I do on my phone. Everything. Even cutting orange peels for old fashioneds at work while on FaceTime with my love. My phone, she's an appendage. So today while I was telling my mother that I didn't care about leaving my laptop for a bit because I don't need it...it occurred to me that my phone, my veritable counterpart, doesn't have a name. I can't be a second without her but she doesn't have a name but my car and most everything else in my life that I can't live without do have names. I greet my car every time I see her and say good night to her every day. Her name is Edwin. She's my anthropomorphic best friend. I tell her everything. But my phone, who knows more about me than any device human or not, does not have a name. I hate my phone. I HAD a lovely phone with a lovely case and this is a whole other story...but I ended up having to buy another phone and another case and I hate this phone and I hate the case (which is also another story). But, damn. Whether or not I hate this phone, she needs a name. My grandmother, who passed away in 2008, was absolutely obsessed with her "little phone" and I wish she had gone on to experience what that little phone went on to do. I feel like I need to name my little phone something Lona-ish (my grandmother was named Lona)but something Lona hated because I really do hate my phone although I can't live without it. But I can't think of anything Lona hated except her lipstick color. She was mortified when she really thought about it and realized that her lipstick go-to for many, many years was called "everyday beige". She was anything but beige. But her lipstick choice was spot on aesthetically. It served her well. So, I guess what I'm saying is that my phone is now named Beige. I hate my stupid phone but she certainly serves me well.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com