DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2022-09-01 - 6:37 a.m.

Note to self for the future. Keep a fucking bottle of ibuprofen in your purse at all times. This was my 7th night in the hospital. I've been waking to alarming back pain that will then persist all day. It's breathtaking back pain. I have trouble talking when it's really acting up. And then I have to go through a bunch of hoops to get a Tylenol or advil or a lydocaine patch. They always give them to me but first I have to press the call button and then wait about 5 minutes for the tech to show up and then she goes to the RN to relay the message and then she puts the order into the pharmacy. So it usually takes about 20 minutes to get a pill I should have had in my purse. Another note, always keep a set of clean clothes and shoes in your car. I have no shoes and no clothes to wear home. I asked my mother to bring me a dress and she brought me sweatpants and a t-shirt. I mean, it will get me out of this awful hospital gown...but I kind of wanted to walk out of here today in some form dress since that's all I wear at home unless I'm wearing my 20 year old cut off pajama pants. Anyway.

I'm going "home" today. They(my family) are letting stop at my house to visit the kitties and grab some stuff. But then I'm going to stay with my mother, 2 hours away, for a bit. My neighbors and Matt are going to take care of the cats and my family has arranged to have my house basically gutted and cleaned. When I come back in a few weeks, I'll likely have to buy all new furniture. Which will take some time since I don't, currently, have a job.

Things I am looking forward to during this little jaunt to Kalamazoo. Waterstreet coffee daily. Walking trails. I'm bringing all my jewelry making stuff and I'm going to make myself a billion things. I'll get to see Jon and Jill regularly. And my youngest brother. He and I are going to start going to planet fitness together. He and I both need it. I am NOT happy that they aren't letting me return to my own home. But I'm going to make the best of it and, I know that when I return to my own home it will be better and I can focus on just getting my life together. And I can go to Texas.

Tylenol and lydocaine kicked in. I'm going to take a nap before the chaos begins. Apparently the discharge procedure is tedious. I just want to get dressed, sign a piece of paper and walk out.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com