DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2022-08-24 - 10:34 a.m.

I start my new job today. I'm a nervous wreck. I slept in fits and tantrums (and these stupid hot flashes didn't help). I got up super early, for me, just to make sure I am fully prepared. I have my clothes laid out, purse is packed, I filled my gas tank, brought the garbage cans in, blah, blah. While I was bringing the garbage cans in, I got stung by a bee, pretty much in the middle of my forehead. So I look like an idiot for my first night. I'm pretty allergic to bees and it looks like I have half an egg shaped form stuck in my forehead. And I have to stop at the store on my way to get a little notebook. I haven't written many orders down in the last 11 years. I always kept a piece of paper and a pen in my pocket just in case a table gets crazy with substitutions or if it's party of over six (by the way, I didn't get fired for messing up orders, I got fired for my attitude. Everybody is crazy at that restaurant right now and the mean girl server group and a constantly drunk boss and a bunch of snotty, entitled customers doesn't do anything to feed positivity). And everybody, including the kitchen and buss staff is totally burned out. I'm expecting there to be four more terminations in the next couple weeks. The restaurant is changing ownership very soon and I know S. has a vision of how she wants her new restaurant. She wants a hipper, younger vibe. But that's not Novi. She's going to fail. She didn't have it in her 11 years ago and she's certainly not going to be able to pull this off. Anyway, I have to get a little notebook still and then I'm all set. And super nervous. It was nice to spend a week with the kitties. And I got to go out to dinner and get dressed up and have dinner paid for me. Couldn't pay my bills...but it was a week off. Oh, and I have Scorpions on Tuesday! I paid for those tickets months ago. So now I just have to find somebody to go with me buy me drinks and a t-shirt. The concert is at Pine Knob, which is known for tailgating. I've been on a pretty steady diet of cherries and watermelon and an occasional hard boiled egg. But it's always fun so maybe I'll try to pull it off. Eric and I had a pretty epic tailgate there a concert. I made a whole bunch of fancy food and we had a fancy bottle of wine. And then saw my Scorpions and I think I cried the whole time.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com