DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2011-10-23 - 5:35 p.m.

I am going to attempt to grow lettuce in the house this winter. I wish I didn't have so many house plants. I am beginning to think that house plants are a huge waste of space and water...I should be growing vegetables instead. If I had fifty four vegetable plants growing all winter instead of fifty four house plants...we would be in good shape for food! It would be exciting. So if you know me and you want some of my house plants...please come and get them. I will save a few of them for sentimental reasons.

Why have I suddenly become obsessed with growing my own vegetables all year? Because I had a cricket for a few weeks. I rescued him from the middle of an aisle at the store, he was missing a leg. I wasn't sure if he could survive outside with one leg and anyway, it was during a period of time when it was really frigid outside and no one thought we would get any more good weather this year. So I set up an aquarium for him with dirt and plants and a little pool of water and some rocks. He was pretty happy. Every once in a while I threw in a piece of lettuce or some fruit. So then I quit my job and started a period of time where I essentially wasn't going to be paid for two weeks while I was training at the new job. So I stopped buying organic lettuce. One day I threw in a piece of non organic lettuce for my cricket, who was doing very well that day, very active and all that. He started in on the lettuce immediately. About an hour later I peeked in at him and he was belly up and not moving. So I sadly removed him and put him in a cup to take him out for burial later. So later comes around and I grab the cup to take him outside and he's alive! So back in the aquarium he goes and he's happy and I start wondering about the lettuce because, you know, pesticides, right? Which really freaks me out! Because he eats lettuce, the very lettuce I am eating every day and he keels over. But I hadn't washed it and he was alive and I just carried on.

Then a few days later I decide to give him lettuce again and this time I washed the hell out of it. And an hour later he was dead (for real this time). So I am not eating non organic lettuce any more. Period. But I can't really afford organic all the time, especially with how much lettuce we go through. So I am kind of screwed. I need to grow it in the house. So I'm gonna.

The new job is going well. It's annoying and over staffed right now as we try to get used to things and find balances but I know that very soon it will all settle down and we will all be comfortable and efficient and it will be good. I made more money last week (two dollars more but still..) in four seven hour days than I did as the cheese queen in five nine hour days. So that's EXCELLENT. I've been walking again and getting things somewhat done. This house is so far gone that it will take me a year just to get to a point where I can start getting anything done...but that's ok. That's ok. The last few years (decade) have been a disaster. I refuse to let it get any worse. This is it. THis is the job I am staying at whether or not it turns out to be perfect or not. I just need to get things done.

That is all.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com