DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2011-04-26 - 5:02 p.m.

I have a raccoon in my entryway. I am super excited and relieved about this. You see, part of the reason I am so stressed out about my job is that they have been setting traps for raccoons and cats on the dumpsters every night. This has been a huge ordeal for me. I've been very upset and for almost a month I haven't been sleeping because I wake at 2 in the morning thinking about the poor animal that must be trapped and cold and scared. I had to stop getting to work early because I couldn't deal with it. I couldn't deal with the fact that they were having the cats hauled away by animal control and that the raccoons ended up being taken away for target practice. Seriously. When I said something, when I actively voiced my displeasure, when I actively made a move to do something HUMANE...it got worse. They started to trap more prolifically and almost rubbed it in my face. So I shut up. I shut up and stopped getting to work early and I started leaving early so I wouldn't see the traps being set. I've been an ass kisser for the last month and today, FINALLY, somebody offered me the captured raccoon to do what I please with it. What I would like to do is keep him safe and warm and fed forever...but the best I can do is to let him go in the woods later tonight and hope for the best. Which is far better for him than being target practice. I am going to continue to kiss ass and hope that I am offered more cats and raccoons. I am going to continue to kiss ass in hopes that I can make some sort of difference in how this place deals with things. I hope to get some cats. I hope people stop killing everything. This is a good day and I can't wait to let my little raccoon go.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com