DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2007-10-24 - 12:09 p.m.

I am fantastically withdrawn from present time right now. I've obviously crawled into my bubble of denial so that I don't have to actively participate in this whole moving thing. I love having this talent. The thing is that because I am currently enbubbled I am reminded that prior to moving here I had been in a similar state. Except at that time my bubble had to be way thicker because I was dealing with way more 'I don't want tos' for that move. There was, I don't want to fly, I don't want to sell my house, I don't want to sell my car, I don't want to leave the snow, I don't want to be without money, I don't want to this and that and finally, the big one, I DON'T WANT TO GO. In my current situation I pretty much just don't want to fly or have my cats fly. Little parts of me want to stay here...but I know that's just because I am comfortable now and my reflex is always for the most comfortable. ANYWAY...what I am saying is that I remember how many things I was dealing with when we moved here...how totally freaked out I was. How my nerve endings felt like they were on fire when they weren't twitching. (I had an actual two month eye twitch before I moved here.) I feel really bad for my past self because I must have been really, really hurting. I can't believe I made it through that.

******

I had Eric bring some feline Greenies back with him when he returned from the U.S. a couple weeks ago. My cats (especially Oscar) love Greenies and I wanted them to have a perfect last month here in Spain because the next couple months are going to be weird for them and man, they've been really happy here. So, I ordered quite a few bags of tehm. I think ten bags. Which should have been enough for a month and more. But Oscar has been acting like the stupid Greenies are crack and he not only chases me around the house screaming for them...but he's also waking me up in the middle of the night (by hitting me repeatedly on the shoulder with his paw) for them. I try to give him food, and he'll eat it and I'll go back to sleep but ten seconds later he's right back at my shoulder batting away. The only thing that makes him stop is a pile of Greenies. He's been eating so many that his poop is green. I don't know what to do because I am almost out of Greenies and we still have another two weeks. He won't let me sleep without his Greenies.

******
This past weekend Eric and I went on a shopping spree in Barcelona. It was fun. I wanted to get some clothes from Zara because I thought we didn't have Zaras in the U.S., but apparently there are either 14 or 25 stores (I got conflicting answers when I looked it up on-line). None of them are in my area though so I am justified with my shopping spree. I was going to be really pissed off if there was a Zara in Chicago. So I bought three new pairs of Zara jeans and I was dismayed to find that I had gone up a jeans size since I moved here. However, last night Eric and I went out for pizza and I wore a pair of new jeans and by the end of the night they were pretty much two sizes too big for me. So I should have bought the size smaller.

Also during our spree we went to H&M because I like the plain t-shirts there, they fit me really well and Eric had found (finally) a pair of pants that fit him well and he wanted to buy more. H&M was PACKED. It was impossible to move in there. And it was mostly Americans. Which pissed me off. Just before I moved here I went to H&M in Chicago and bought some shirts. A couple months after we had been living here we went to the clearance sales and H&M had my exact shirts for sale. They sell the same things in Spain that they sell in the States people...GO SOMEWHERE UNIQUE AND SPANISH. Don't go to H&M and buy the exact thing you can buy in your own state. And especially not right now, you're getting raped with the exchange rate you morons. Now you might be thinking...'But Whisper, you're an American and you were in H&M,' and yes, I was. BUT I LIVE HERE. So it's okay. In two weeks when I return to my American life I am no longer allowed to go to H&M while visiting a foreign country.

*******

That is all.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com