DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2007-07-10 - 9:54 a.m.

I have to go to the vet at 10:30 with Smitten the Kitten. He's been eating his belly hairs right off and making himself bleed. And then last week he jumped over the wall into the meadow (only the second time he has ever done that) and Eric heard him wailing and we rescued him and he was panting and freaked out and scared for hours afterwards. Then, a few days later, this weird thing appeared on his back and the hair fell out of that spot. So. He goes to the vet today. There are three problems with this. One: Smitten is a big baby and will probably hyperventilate in the car (which in turn completely stresses me out until I start crying). Two: My normal vet is not there today and I will have to conduct this whole thing in Spanish. Three: I don't know what I will do if Smitten has to take pills. I cannot give him pills. He is the only cat on the planet that I cannot give pills to. He is impossible to pill.

After the vet I am coming home and washing things. Yesterday I bought new fabric softener and it smells delicious. I used to get this shampoo/conditioner mix from Avon when I was a teenager that smelled all sweet and gooey like this fabric softener smells. I think that's why I like it. It reminds me of Avon. It reminds me of one particular summer when Jill and I spent the majority of our time floating around Crooked Lake on our blow up rafts. We'd come in for the night smelling like lake and lily pads and then I'd take a shower and use my Avon shampoo and Jill's Ivory soap. Then we would sit around for the rest of the night playing cards and eating shit food or watching Top Gun (or Dirty Dancing or Pretty Woman or Lost Boys) and eating shit food. Or calling boys on the telephone and eating shit food. Anyway...this fabric softner smells like that summer.

That is all.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com