DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2006-03-21 - 12:56 p.m.

Right now, at this very moment, I should be pulling up in front of our house with my husband and his things neatly bundled into the car. But instead�I just woke up (after having pushed snooze for two hours, I REALLY TRIED TO GET UP AT TEN, I DID!) and I just threw some blankets in the washing machine and fed the cats and made coffee. And my husband is sleeping on our purple couch in his parents� basement in Muskegon with the nasty vampire spider neither of us has seen any trace of except for the fang marks in Eric�s neck periodically. He extended his trip by a day. And this already feels like the longest day ever. But�because of his extension, he finally got one (of many) situations at work resolved-ish AND�last night he bought us a digital camera! I am very excited. However, since I have come home from my trip to Michigan I have wanted to take a picture of this very lovely tree in our yard that was covered with pretty, perfect purple flowers. And because we had no film and getting film here requires talking to people and I just couldn�t muster that particular project, I missed the fucking purple flowers. The last one turned into a leaf yesterday.

Anyway. I have had two digital cameras in my life. Neither of which did I pay over $50 for. Also, digital cameras have been around for a long time now. So WHY are they so expensive now? I don�t get it. My digital cameras weren�t anything special�they took pictures and I could easily download them to my computer. They didn�t have all sorts of storage and the pictures they took weren�t top quality�but they were still pictures that I was happy with. I hope this camera blows my mind away with its ability because otherwise I am going to be very disappointed in technology and technological pricing.

My cats just came tearing upstairs in a panic because the street sweeper is going by.

Also�you know my cat Bubba, he starts meowing like crazy every single morning at around 6 am. For no reason. He�ll be in a sound sleep for hours and hours and hours and then all of a sudden, at the exact same time every morning, he will start meowing. For about half an hour and then he goes back to bed. I have no idea what wakes him up every morning, nor do I have any idea why it makes him meow. It�s very annoying. But I�ve decided to take advantage of it. Make it into a good thing. So I�ve started charting my cycle again. When he wakes me up at 6 am I pop the basal thermometer into my mouth, wait for the beep, record the temp, throw something at Bubba and go back to sleep. This will work well because you have to take your temp at the same time every morning. I love charting my cycle. It�s fascinating. Tedious, but fascinating. Also, my temperatures are so low that they don�t even have a space for it on the pre printed charts. I�m not sure that is a good thing. I think I might be dead. I bought a new basal thermometer when I was in Michigan because my old one is gross and beat up. Last time I bought one I had to go all over the place to find it and when I asked at Meijer if they had them I was told they didn�t carry them because of liability issues (people getting pregnant when using charting and suing the place they bought the thermometer or something like that). That pissed me off. One thing I don�t miss at all about the U.S. is the suing and the possibility of suing. We don�t have advertisements for accident attorneys on the back of our phone books here. ANYWAY�Meijer must have changed it�s mind because they had a choice of basal thermometers when I was there last. But on the outside of the box it says in big bold letters�.WARNING: THIS THERMOMETER IS NOT TO BE USED AS A CONTRACEPTIVE. And fuck off!! I AM using this thermometer as a contraceptive!! I am a rebel!!

My brother will be here in nine days!! This is terribly exciting for me. They are only staying for a week and that is terribly sad for me. Why can�t they be the guests that stay for weeks and weeks? WHY?? I can�t wait to show them certain things�but more than anything I want to take them to France for a couple days. I feel kind of bad about that. I should love Spain like I love France. But I just don�t. I am beginning to think that I need to go south here in Spain. I think part of the reason I don�t like it here in the northeast is because Barcelona is rather normal�I mean, it�s like being in any other big city except you eat dinner later and have tapas and people are speaking Spanish or Catalan. So because it doesn�t have any really outstanding details I get critical of it because when I compare it to Paris it�s lacking the elegance, when I compare it to Chicago it�s missing the awesome restaurants�that sort of thing. Barcelona is unique with it�s Gaudi buildings and I enjoy the look on people�s faces when we walk up to one, and that�s about it. Anyway, I think southern Spain is much more Spanish�would be different and unique from any other place I will ever go. I REALLY REALLY want to get down towards to the Seville area before we move away from this place. So�the point is that I want to take my brother and his girlfriend to France so they can experience at least one night of the French dining experience. Everyone should experience one night of the French dining experience.

Blah blah blah.


|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com