DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2005-08-21 - 12:03 a.m.

I don�t wash my hair every day because�.

I am too scared to go to the salon to get my hair cut�first of all because I wouldn�t even know how to make an appointment (okay, so I could make an appointment but things are never that simple�I will go in there and tell them I want to make an appointment and they will inevitably start asking me things that I have not rehearsed and everything will get confused and stupid and well�.IF PEOPLE WOULD JUST GO BY THE SCRIPT!)�and second because there is no way the stylist wouldn�t talk to me the entire time I was sitting there and I would have no idea what she/he was saying and I would get all freaked out and flushed and I would probably have a panic attack right there. So. I have to take really good care of my hair until I can get enough courage to get it cut�or until May time when I am going back to Michigan for a couple weeks.

I have to conserve my shampoo and conditioner. I brought a years supply with me. But I didn�t bring it all in one shot. It got here in small loads. There is no way someone could bring a years supply of shampoo and conditioner in one load. And since I am only planning to go home once next year I have to make sure to only use as much shampoo and conditioner as I can bring back with me next year.

I used to be an every day hair washer. Back when I worked in that disgusting restaurant that made hair smell like bacon, five days old, congealed in its own grease at the bottom of a skillet with a little syrup in the house of a chain smoker who keeps an ashtray right next to the stove.

So I get really excited on hair washing day. And I really make it worth every last drop of shampoo. On hair washing day I will get REALLY disgusting. You will not see me working really hard in the garden on a NOT hair washing day. You will not catch me over doing the exercise on a not hair washing day. On hair washing days I will usually clean the house, like nitty gritty cleaning, not just dusting. I will also exercise like a mad woman, sweating all over the place and just getting really gross. Then, in the evening time I will take a really great shower. Lots of soap and water and scrubby gloves�AND, I will wash my hair. I take a bath every day and sometimes I take a shower too, but I only wash my hair a few times a week.

Yesterday was a hair washing day. And I didn�t wash my hair. Because I didn�t think I deserved to. Yesterday I kind of just sat around all day. I was scattered and weird yesterday. Not in a bad mood or anything�I just really didn�t want to do anything and yet I felt as though I should, it being a hair washing day and all. So I just kind of wandered around all day, took a nap and that sort of thing.

So this morning when I woke up my hair was NASTY. And I had A LOT to do today because evil cramps are due at any second which will leave me totally flat out on the couch tomorrow. So today I cleaned the house, did double exercise, finished my gardening projects, did laundry, made yummy soup�everything I could think of so that tomorrow when I am laying on the couch I won�t be thinking about this or that thing that I could be doing. And by seven this evening I was SO ready to take that shower. It was awesome. I remember going to Bluebird Camp (Campfire girls) when I was a kid and we would spend a couple days in tents and sitting next to fires and when I got home I would feel so gross and that bath would be about the best thing I could ever imagine. That�s how good my shower was this evening.

Not to mention that today was a spectacularly beautiful day here. If I had known that it was going to be this beautiful here I never would have complained about that heat and misery. I would have just suffered through it. So having that perfect, beautiful, jasmine scented breeze coming through the bathroom window was just icing on a perfect, perfect cake.

I totally deserved to wash my hair today. I like to feel worthy.

I think my family hates me. They all ignore me. Why is my family trying to forget me??? WHY???? Oh wait�husband is my family now�and he doesn�t ignore me. He loves me.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com