DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2004-11-20 - 5:27 a.m.

Bloody hell. I woke up too early. Don't have to be to work until 8 and I somehow woke up at my normal time (4) without an alarm and with absolutely no awareness that I didn't have to be awake. It was only after I had made coffee that I realized my mistake. My alarms will be going off in forty five minutes. A smart person would go turn them off right now...but I know I will sit here until they all start screaming.

......

So yesterday I had this table. A really super nice, well spoken, good looking guy and he was joined by this well spoken, pretty, unique looking, seemingly normal and together girl. So I go to take their order and she says, "I'll have the vegetarian omelete with no eggs." At first I thought she was joking but then I realized she was serious so I was confused and I said, "Um, an omelete IS an egg...all you would have then is some vegetables on a plate with some cheese. Is that what you wanted because we can do that, I just want to make sure?" And she repeated to me, slowly, "I want the vegetarian omelete with no eggs." And I said, "Uh, okay, that comes with pancakes, toast or a muffin," and she says, "No. It doesn't." I just stood there. She then says while pulling out the menu and reading, "It says right here, vegetarian omelete...chock full of garden fresh vegetables..." and I say, "Yes, but those are cooked IN EGG and ON THE SIDE COMES YOUR CHOICE OF PANCAKES TOAST OR A MUFFIN." And she says something about me being wrong (she is saying this to the guy who is just sitting there doing NOTHING) and how hashbrowns are an omelete and I say, "OH, you want hashbrowns with vegetables in them, that is NO problem!" And she glares at me, throws her coat on and says she will, "just go somewhere else where she can get what she wants." And I say, "Okay." And they leave but they stop at the front first and she tells my boss that she can't believe he hires people that argue with customers when they try to order what they want and he asks her what she wanted and she says, "a vegetarian omelete with no eggs," and he says, "how is that possible?" and she throws her purse down and screams, "JUST FORGET IT!" and leaves. It was really quite stupid. And the worst part is that I was really fragile yesterday and when I am fragile I am overly nice to people because I know I won't be able to handle it if someone gets upset with me...so I was being really, really nice to her and she still acted like that. And...she had her three year oldish son with her. I am horrified that someone can act like that around their son. Anyway, I was really angry, like shaking angry when I went in the back...but once she yelled at my boss too I thought the whole thing was fucking hilarious.

.....

Also yesteday I waiting on a woman I have refused to wait on for a couple years. I had waited on her for years and years and I had always thought we had a really good repoire. In fact, I really admired and liked this woman. She is really strong, obviously really intelligent, her children are very well behaved, polite, smart AND funny. They don't act like other well behaved children who kind of cower in the corner...these kids are very well adjusted. Anyway, one time a couple years ago after I had waited on her and her friend she went to my boss and said she had had the WORST service she had ever had. Now this is after me waiting on her for like four years without incident. It was busy that day and food took forever...but it would seem like if I had a waitress that always waited on me and I never had a problem before I wouldn't make one day be the basis for my opinion. I was really hurt. I wasn't angry, I was really hurt. Anyway, I waited on her yesterday for the first time and she was nice and everything went well and she didn't say anything bad on her way out...and I am just confused.

.....

Went to bed at six last night. It's been a long time since I have done that. Felt really good. All six cats slept with me too, that is special. Even Fish slept with me and she never sleeps with me unless Eric is here. Then she sleeps on HIS head.

.....

I think I have decided that I am moving in March, for sure. I feel good about this. For whatever reason I just wasn't accepting the idea of moving in December. Besides...this way Eric can come home for Christmas. Which will make everyone happy. So, the idea now is that I will go there in February to take my language courses WITH Eric and then come back in March and get the cats. I think maybe I want to come back for a month after the language classes just to work and get a little more money and to make sure this house is ready to go and that the temperatures are okay for kitties to fly and all that. We'll see though. I feel really bad about leaving Eric in my hermit dream house alone. He doesn't like isolation like I do.

.....

I've decided that after giving myself time to acclimate there I will then have a period of time where I WILL NOT get out of my pajamas (except to go to the grocery store) until I have written my novel. I know I can do it because in 1999 I did something similar and I finished a novel on December 31 at 7:15 in the evening. It took 47 days. It sucked and I have since thrown it away...but I did it.

.....

I suppose I should do something productive before my alarms go off.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com