DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2004-07-07 - 8:38 p.m.

So here is the genius phone company for you�.I switched my phone service about a month and a half ago because this certain phone company had a deal with Northwest and I could get 1,000 miles a month for using the service. And I got 5,000 miles for signing up. That is great. Anyway, because I call France more than I call even my mother, I had to get the INTERNATIONAL PLAN. Now, when someone gets an international plan the assumption would be that they are going to call international, right? Well, apparently the fact that I pay $6.95 a month for this feature doesn�t mean anything to them because since I have been with this phone company I have been called three times to verify that I am indeed authorizing calls to France and I have received two letters telling me to call the high toll department as soon as possible to avoid interruption on my line because there was �suspicious activity� on my line. So I called the first time, which was actually the fourth time I had talked to the high toll department, I got the letter. But the second time I got the letter I ignored it because I was sure that they understood from my previous four calls that I WAS INDEED CALLING INTERNATIONAL. So today I go to call Eric and I can�t get through because my long distance service had been cut off. So I call and the woman tells me that they do that as a precaution, because I hadn�t called after receiving the letter and there was a call to (gasp!) GERMANY on June 14th which they were concerned about. I tell her, once again, that I have AN INTERNATIONAL CALLING PLAN�WHY WOULD I HAVE THAT IF I WASN�T CALLING INTERNATIONAL NUMBERS???? She tells me that it is just a precaution, that when they get new customers they call whenever there is a call made to a place that isn�t normal and they are still setting up a �pattern� for me since I am new customer. It had been noted that I call France, but not Germany. Anyway�after all that, I told her to put me down for all of Western Europe, as well as the UK and Africa while you are at it, because you just never know. BUT�and here is the kicker�since they had shut off my long distance service, �as a precaution�, it couldn�t be turned back on automatically and I would have to wait to be able to make calls for UP TO TWENTY FOUR HOURS. This is ridiculous. If I weren�t moving soon I would switch back to my other company who didn�t give a crap if I called the moon as long as they got their money for that call. I did indeed appreciate the first time they called to make sure it was okay to call France (even though my calling France is only 3 cents more than my calling Iowa), but I do not appreciate the other four times that I had to call these people to tell them it was okay.

That�s a long entry about the phone company.

I was supposed to be writing about my independence.

My youngest brother and I went to see King Arthur today. I couldn�t really tell you if it was a good movie or not because I think my opinion is null and void since I just basically love anything about King Arthur. (with the exception of the movie Excaliber, which was the worst movie I have EVER seen.) But Gwen was portrayed in a really, really awesome way in this movie. It was kind of difficult for me at first to get the idea out of my head that she was a spoiled, blond princess type with no brain. But I quickly got used to the idea. And I was pleasantly surprised to find that my youngest brother is NOT an annoying popcorn eater. He was a very pleasant movie date. He didn�t make obnoxious noises with his food as most others are like to do.

I also got a really good compliment from a guy I used to work with. I ran into him at Menards. I told him I was getting married in a few weeks and he said, �Holy shit! Tell your husband to be congrats, he obtained the unobtainable!� Why I think it is a compliment that someone thinks me unobtainable I don�t know�but I did.

And also, I saw this guy at Barnes and Noble who kind of creeps me out. He creeps me out because I rarely see people I know out and about, and I have lived here all my life. But I ALWAYS run into this guy EVERYWHERE. Even last week when I went downtown to gaze at my ring I saw him in my rear view mirror crossing the street behind me. I�ve been running into this guy for ten years now. He used to come to Wayside, which was the first bar I worked in at the ripe age of 19. Then he came to Cork and Cleaver where I worked from the age of 21 until I was 25�then he came to the Kitchen where I have been since I was 23. He didn�t come to those places because I was there, he just happened to go to those places and I happened to work there. I just get really freaked out that I always see him, wherever I am. And he is really nice, shy and quiet but always says a couple sentences to me, but there is just something that really creeps me out about it. Mostly because I just don�t think it is possible to see someone EVERYWHERE. I mean, no one can have the EXACT same habits as I do, can they? No one can be going the EXACT places I am, can they?

I am going to bed now.

Oh�.and believe it or not, the animal rescue actually called me back. I can�t believe it! No one EVER calls me back. But they are going to work on finding a spot to place the kittens and the mother. This is the best thing for this cat. I wish I could tame her, so someone could at least touch her, but I am failing. I just want to make sure that the kittens have a fair chance at least. I don�t have much hope for her, but at least her babies can find a good home. I plan to dedicate a lot of my time in Spain to figuring out how to get this cat thing under control in the U.S. I know that there is going to be a period when it isn�t so pretty, like gathering all stray cats and fixing them and requiring people to license their cats or they will be taken to the shelter�but it has to end. All this senseless procreation of stray, uncared for, unfed cats has to end. It makes me sick to think about.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com