DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2002-01-05 - 4:40 p.m.

People will accept your ideas much more readily if you tell them Benjamin Franklin said it first.

- David Comins

It is really no wonder I don't have the kind of friends normal people have. I mean, it's no wonder I don't have a group of people I consider close, that I call all the time or go out with. It's really depressing when you realize you are scared to tell your friends something because you know you will have to endure an argument. I am scared to tell my best friend Nicole, who lives in Iowa, that I am contemplating going to Florida with Jon. I am scared to talk about the fact that I am contemplating having a baby in two years with or without a husband and I am scared to say ANYTHING around my friend Trisha. When I swore off anything sexual in August for one year, she argued and argued with me. She asked, "What if the man of your dreams comes along?" I told her if he was the man of my dreams he'd understand my need for this year. Sound okay? Nooo...she said that wouldn't be fair to him.

Anyway, what I'd really like to talk about is what happened today when Kathy caught me discussing my plans for a baby. She hates it when I talk about it, gets quite angry, telling me it is selfish and wrong, that a child needs a mother and a father. My contention is that if a baby is born into a home with just a mother, that's what they will know and if it is a happy and well adjusted home that child will be just fine. Everyone is going to get screwed up by something in life. Everyone has their issues. And wasn't her choice to have a child a selfish choice? I mean, what other reason is there to have a child? You simply want one, that's that. Well today she and Trisha ganged up on me about. Trisha saying it would be unfortunate for the baby, that it would be unfortunate for me...Kathy saying a child needed a father, that there are studies that show children do better with two parents. And I retorted back by saying that A. how is it better for a child just because there is a father in the house? Kathy's husband accidently left their two year old home alone for seven hours one day and when her husband has to stay with the baby he feeds him ice cream and nuts. And B. studies are a bunch of crap. There was a study that came out once, said that people who drank five or more cups of coffee a day had a very decreased chance of getting Alzheimers disease. So everyone starts sucking the coffee down. What the study didn't tell you was that people that drank more than five cups of coffee a day probably have an addictive personality and people with addictive personalities have more dopamine in their brains then normal people, and more dopamine ALSO greatly decreases your chance for Alzheimers. So the coffee had nothing to do with it. So studies mean nothing to me. If a study says having a father around is better for the child then great, but the study was probably done on families who's Mother was in prison for life. Of course having a father around would make the childrens life better. It's all just propaganda. Lobbyists. Probably that Dan Quail had something to do with that father study. And C. who says what is right or wrong anyway? It's all a society driven charade anyway. Like drinking milk. Who in the hell came up with the idea to drink the milk of an animal that we won't even allow in our homes, an animal that we consider dirty, yet we drink the milk that is produced from it. And if you drank the milk of a human, well...ewwwwww. Does that really make sense? Shouldn't it be the other way around? Someone along the way made drinking human milk disgusting and now we all adhere to that belief. Just like we adhere to the belief that the nuclear family is the ideal.

I walked away from the discussion because those two girls piss me off. They are my friends, I enjoy spending time with them, I just don't like talking to them. Neither one allows for differences in thought.

Now I have to call Nicole and tell her I might be going to Florida. Might as well just get pissed at all my friends in the same day.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com