DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2002-01-04 - 7:31 p.m.

Dirty coffee cups left lying around in a two day period of time....seven. I�m a pig.

At work today a friend of mine asked if I had a spare minute. I did. So she grabbed my hand and pulled me in the back with a newly sharpened knife. She then stopped in the only unpopulated part of the restaurant and lifted her chin up. I�m thinking, �Oh my God, she wants me to slit her throat!� But no, she had a little whisker growing under her chin and it was �tickling� her. So I had to squint my eyes to see it, grab it with my fingernails and cut it off. I guess that�s what friends are for. It reminded me......

In elementary school my group of friends decided one day that we needed a leader. Somehow it was agreed that Kelli would become that leader. And she used her power to the fullest. Every so often she would come to school and announce that at recess we had to get her loose tooth out. So when recess came we would all gather in the windbreak and surround her with nothing less than the ritualistic awe and respect that a high priestesses must have received when practicing magic on the winter soltice. Whomever was chose to actually PULL the tooth out was revered as that day�s very special person. The person that got to hold the wad of tissue under Kelli�s mouth was second in respect for the day. I often got to hold the tissue.

One day Kelli stayed home sick and I with all my designs on the throne took my opportunity. I announced that we should elect a leader in the wake of Kelli�s absence. To my delight I was elected. And my first order of business was to implement a new order of leadership. It was my decree that we would change leaders weekly. It was met with approval. Kelli didn�t come back that week and I enjoyed my week of being in charge of a group of ten.

And then she came back. Kelli had this power, she was very dominant. Even if you didn�t like her you still revered her, you still fell silent at one disproving look from her. She immediately overrode my decree and ousted me from the group. She didn�t oust me right away, rather she waited for her chance to humiliate me so I would leave on my own accord. That day came pretty quick.

My Brother and I were Ouija board devotees. One night I asked the board if this guy named Eric, who I had been in love with since kindergarten, would ever be my boyfriend. It said yes. I asked when and it replied, June 2nd. That was a week away. Of course I told my friends. When June 2nd arrived I felt like a bride must feel. I felt like all eyes were upon me on my special day. Eric came up to me and told me he needed to talk to me at recess. My friend Karin pulled me aside right after that and told me that I shouldn�t talk to him because Kelli was playing a joke on me. I didn�t believe her. At recess I went to talk to him, a group of about twenty of my peers surrounded us. I don�t know how I realized it was indeed a joke, but I did and I started to run away but Eric grabbed me, lifted me up and started spinning in a circle. He was squeezing me, the kids around us were relatively silent and I, in a panic, FARTED. And it was no silent fart either, it was a full blown, eight year old who had beans for dinner fart.

I ran all the way home, didn�t even get my backpack from my locker. I just ran home.

I didn�t hang out with them anymore. It was the end of the school year and my anger didn�t subside in time to talk to anyone before getting out for the summer. I spent the summer with my friends from the neighborhood, and I plotted.

When fourth grade started I formed a new group of my own. We were based solely around the discovery of a four leaf clover at recess one day. We called ourselves the Leperettes. Like a female version of a Leprechaun. And I gloried in the leadership of us. Sometime in the winter I started writing these little plays. My teacher would let us go rehearse in the vacant classroom next door when we finished our work. And then one day we were ready and the whole fourth grade class was excused to the auditorium where the Leperettes performed their first play. And it was a SUCCESS. Kelli and my former friends begged to put on a play with us. I agreed but only if I were fully in charge. The second show was a success as well. I kind of started hanging out with my old friends again, letting my new fend for themselves. Eventually I rejoined Kelli and my old friends and remained with them until shortly after high school. I didn�t see Kelli truly pay for what she did to me until our senior year. All three of her sisters had been Homecoming queen and it was just assumed Kelli would be too. But even with all her glorious power she had over people, when it came to choosing the most popular girl in the school and by doing it with ballots she couldn�t see, she lost. Her best friend won, the girl who was Kelli�s little tag along, her little puppy. It was a great feeling to see her eyes cloud over in anger. Is that wrong? I have a lot of issues with Kelli, but in her defense she was a very good friend and she was someone who I really looked up to. So....all that memory just from trimming a whisker. I had another memory about whiskers that grow in strange places on females, but I think I�ll refrain from sharing that one for fear of really embarrassing myself.

For the last fifty five minutes I have been listening to the sound of a coin going round and round in my dryer. A few years ago I tried to come up with something that would line the interior of the dryer basket so coinsm buttons and snaps wouldn't make such a racket. I need somethig flame resistent and thin. Any ideas? I attempted gluing an old blanket in there once, uh, bad idea, glue melts. Ruined a whole load of jeans. DUH. It would really save my sanity a little to find something.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com