DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2001-12-30 - 8:36 p.m.

Big fight with ex tonight. I think he's trying a different tactic now to get me back. He's gone through the overly kind and romantic phase, the indifferent phase, the friend phase, now he's just being an asshole, saying things he KNOWS will piss me off. Someone must have advised him that the asshole always gets the girl. HA.

I am staying hom on New Years. Last three years I have been miserable and wanted to be home by myself. HBO is playing the entire last season of Sex and the City and I plan to watch as much as I can and tape the rest since I missed this last season. I will also make a HUGE GOURMET pizza and pop open a nice bottle of shiraz. Will probably rent some movies too since I have New Years Day and the following day off. It's been so long since I've had two days off. Goodness.

Last night after madly tearing my bookshelves apart looking for a book I hadn't read yet or hadn't read in so long I didn't remember it, I remembered that just three weeks ago I bought several books and left them in my trunk. AHA! I decided on the new Tom Robbins. It's funny about him because while I can't list him as one of my top five authors I can say he is my favorite writer. Does that make sense? What I mean is that sometimes his books are just filled with a jumble of ideas and thoughts and the story kind of takes a back seat, that is why he is not my favorite author. I like my stories to be pretty precise. I don't like to read a story and get taken around and around before getting back to the story. BUT, he is an excellent writer. His writing is extraordinary. Every book by Robbins that I have is so beaten up because I often go back to them to look up a line or an idea. All his books have many pen marks in them, many notes in the margin, lots of pages that are folded and marked. I'm enjoying the book, sentence by sentence. I'm kind of in the mood for an easy read right now though, I might put aside the Robbins and pick up something by Ann Rice tomorrow. Vampires and witches are usually a good distraction from thought.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com