DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2001-12-24 - 3:15 a.m.

Dinner went very well. I can't believe I am getting hom at 2 am! If I were working tomorrow like usual I would be getting up in an hour.

Snow today. I am thinking of this as the first snow because the stuff we got last Friday was too laden with water to be real snow. It is beautiful. There is something about driving home in the wee hours of the morning when no one else is about that is truly breathtaking. I was driving down what is normally the busiest road in Kalamazoo and there was no one but me on it tonight. I had six lanes to myself. The snow is falling so gently and it has brushed the road in white. It was such a peaceful solitary feeling to look in the rear view mirror and see just one set of tracks on the road. Felt like a permanent reminder that I was there or something.

I arrived a half an hour late for dinner tonight because right as I was leaving a person from my high school called to ask me if I was planning the reunion???????? UMMMMM....not sure but I was pretty sure that TEN years ago we decided that was someone else's job. Anyway I told them I would since I seem to be the only person from my class without a mate, career or kids. This should be fun.

I didn't have to worry about keeping up with any intellectual banter tonight. The men I went to dinner with filled the evening with stories of the past. Normally I would have been bored and irritated but these guys have stockpiles of humorous and endearing stories that make me feel as though I am in the midst of an Irving novel. I loved it. After dinner and two pints of Guiness we went back to Christopher's house to taste the wines Eric brought back. The evening became such a dichotomy. We had these extravagent french wines that we were sniffing the bouquets from and swilling in our mouths while two 20 year olds were drinking Busch beer. On the stereo we had some European techno music playing and the TV was showing Rambo, all the while we are discussing politics and religion. It was funny. It's like we couldn't decide whether we felt like being uppity wine drinkers or young beer drinkers. I think that's the problem with my age. I'm now liking refined and elegent things while at the same time I am missing the days of sitting on an old couch drinking beer and watching stupid movies. It's weird. Don't ever become 28.

NIGHTY NIGHT NIGHT NIGHT.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com