DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2001-12-24 - 11:49 a.m.

My little brother just IM'd me wondering if I could come and get him and take him shopping for a gift for our mother. The funny thing is that I'm sure it is my Mother pretending to be my brother. First of all it is coming from her screen name, second of all the teenage lingo this person is using is a little too contrived. Fifty two year old women should not try to impersonate a fifteen year old.

Christmas Eve today. I slept until 11:00. I haven't done that in a very, very long time. Christmas this year is a very minimal experience. Some years I have two Grandparents houses to go to, if my Dad is home I spend time with him, had to go Jon's house and his company Christmas party....this year I am going to my Mama's house for a few hours on Christmas day. It feels kind of nice to have this quiet day ahead of me blanketed in snow. Just me and my kitties roasting chestnuts on an open fire. Okay, well maybe we'll roast something more tantalizing then a chestnut and we'll do it in the oven. My plan for the day is to clean this hovel a little, light my candles, put some Emmylou on the stereo and make some delicious foods to eat while opening presents tomorrow. I'm expecting a few people to show up unexpectedly sometime today. Holidays always bring the torrent of people who try to stay away from me throughout the year. I'm trying to decide if I should post my, "If you're not invited don't bother knocking." sign on the door or not. I'm not sure it is nice to piss people off on CHristmas.

Funny story from last night. The men were talking about Joe's mother and how crazy she is. Apparantly the woman NEVER leaves her house and is just plain batty. Anyway, she was eating M&M's one day and they noticed she was picking out all the red ones and setting them aside. SOmeone asked her why she was doing this and she replied, "Because the red ones are too spicy for me."

Speaking of things that make no sense...the other day I was browsing diaries and I came across weatherking. He has listed a favorite movie as being Magnolia. I have this thing with this movie. When it first came out I was very excited to see it. They were touting it as this great artisic phenomenon. I happily watched the movie, trying to ignore the fact that I had absolutely no idea what was going one because I figured eventually something would happen that would tie things together and make the whole thing make sense. Only it just got weirder, more obscure. When it ended I asked, "Are you kidding, is this a joke?" and then looked around in panic thinking I was the only one that didn't get it and looked like a moron. But everyone else was kind of staring blankly at the screen too. So I watched it twice more that week, desperately trying to find something that made sense. I never found anything. SO the conclusion I came to was that Hollywood was playing a joke on us. They were trying to see how many people would fall into a brainwashing scheme. They hyped this movie so much that you really felt like an idiot for not understanding it. I'm sure some people actually told people they loved the movie just so they didn't look like a backwoods dumbhead. So I like reading weatherking because I am trying to understand this movie STILL. So could someone, anyone, please tell me what the deal was with the frogs falling from the sky?

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com