DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2014-12-19 - 1:23 a.m.

So there's this girl at work who keeps taking things from me. It's no big deal, I keep trying to be the bigger person about it but it's getting annoying. I don't say very many funny or witty things but it seems like every time I do, I get home and find that she's written my exact words in the form of a facebook post and never mentions that I actually said it. So everybody thinks she is hilarious. Also, a couple weeks ago she and I had dinner together after work and discussed the restaurant and our feelings about it. I told her, very honestly, that I thought we were starting to suffer because of the fact that we keep sub par employees in positions they shouldn't be in. Food is taking too long to get to the tables because our cooks are terrible. And the food that finally does arrive is not what it should be. Add to that that our waitstaff mostly sucks and it's just awful. If you come to our restaurant on a day when certain people are in the kitchen and certain people are on the floor, you will have an amazing time. But mostly, we suck. I know this. And I know we aren't getting a lot of repeat customers because of it. So we had this discussion and she kept saying, "really? You really think this?", like she totally didn't agree. (quite honestly, she's no treasure herself as far as being a server goes) So a couple days later my bartender partner tells me that she and this girl had a conversation and basically she had said everything I had said.

So TONIGHT my favorite busgirl on the planet was looking a little bothered. And I asked her if she was OK and she just let loose and told me her husband had been picked up by the INS and that he'd been in jail for 4 week already and it would be another couple weeks before he was seen by a judge and it looks like he's going to be sent back to his country even though they've been here for ten years and they have an American born child. I don't know him but I do know that his wife, my favorite busgirl ever, is the hardest worked I've ever met. And she's very smart and witty and kind and I love her. So I was very upset. I told her to tell me whatever she needed, I told her I would babysit her daughter if she needed that because she works two jobs, often from five in the morning until midnight. So then I went to this woman, the one who steals everything from me, and I told her that, shit, Maria is in trouble, we gotta pull something together for her. I told her that I told Maria that I would babysit or whatever she needed. I told her I was going to talk to my boss to see if she can send out an e-mail asking everybody to help. But before I could get back to the office to talk to her, this woman made her way back there and commandeered the whole thing. So the email that was sent out says, "So and so (insert stealers name) had the idea that we should help Maria because she doesn't have anything for Christmas for her daughter. So and so has also offered her babysitting services. Whatever you can do would be very helpful." And I'm so pissed. But I shouldn't be. I'm just letting it go because really, Maria will be getting a little help now and she deserves it. The lawyer fees she's already paid are outrageous. I'm so upset about this. I don't often think about the immigration laws in the country, but now I am.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com