DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2013-06-23 - 1:12 a.m.

I am in an unofficial competition with Eric's cousin to get more mile per gallon out of my Prius than he gets from his. It is unofficial because I haven't told him yet that I am competing with him. I just know that he just got, on one tank of gas, something like 56 miles per gallon. It takes some skill to do that. Back when I worked five minutes from home I started getting OCD about my gas mileage. I can't remember how long I went without getting gas in my car, but it was a long time. I started planning everything according to driving the shortest distance. I would only go to the store if I was coming to or from work, for example. Anyway. The second I heard that Paul had achieved this incredible number with his gas mileage I was immediately intrigued. So I started today. I drove to the vet and back which is about 25 miles round trip. I set my cruise control on the stretch of road that has no stop signs and I took it easy the whole way. Calm, even driving. When I pulled into my driveway I was averaging 59 miles per gallon (my awesome car has a display that tells me this information). So then I drove to work a few hours later and totally forgot I was supposed to set my cruise at 65. By the time I got to work, which is about 8 miles away, I had already damaged my average significantly and it was down to 49 miles per gallon. That's incredible. I am totally going to slow the fu*k down now.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com