DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2007-09-14 - 11:33 a.m.

Reading the news about Steve Fossett gave me the strange sensation that I should read "Atlas Shrugged" again. I tried to resist the sensation, but I read the updates on a daily basis and last night I finally gave in and started to read it again. "Atlas Shrugged" was one of the first books I ever "read". Meaning, I have always been a reader but after reading "The Fountainhead" and Atlas I really started to shape my own opinions of things and, in my opinion, became a person. As I have gotten a little older and more well read, I feel a little embarrassed about this...but it's true. Ayn Rand was my hero for a long time.

Anyway...I am reading "Atlas Shrugged" again. Which means that I had to put down the Proust. For the tenth time or so. I have yet to be able to make it more than 150 pages into "Swann's Way". And not because I don't love the writing, because I do. I just get overwhelmed with it and with how slowly I read it. I think I need to change my approach to the book and read several pages a day instead of reading big chunks of it at a time. It is an impossible book to read when you have other things on your mind.

I have a huge to-do list today. So leave me alone.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com