DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2007-07-23 - 11:50 a.m.

Well, that's over. No more festa major for me in this lifetime. Although...it was not nearly as bad this year as it has been in the last two years and I think that has to do with the volume of it. I am certain that they turned the volume down on the band and the blasted discomobil this year because my walls and windows weren't shaking and my nerves didn't get all frayed from noise. It made a huge difference, that slight alteration of noise level. If they had done that the previous two years I might not have been such an adament hater of the festa major.

At some point this week I will post pictures of the awesome parts of the festa. The parade through our town was fantastic. Eric and I went to our roof to watch most of it (and while we were up there we discovered for the FIRST TIME that we have a view of the sea up there!!) and Eric managed to get some really good pictures of the castellers that I am sure will bring tears to my eyes in a few years when I am sitting in boring old Michigan. Such is life.

We did end up being mostly alone for the night. Juergen and his family showed up for four hours and ate some of the food I had spent all day preparing. But hte pet shop guy called and said he had hurt his back and wouldn't be able to come. So. We have a lot of leftover food. Most of it isn't a problem and I will be able to use it all week in various meals. But the fig and phyllo tart I made might be a total loss. I think it was meant to be eaten immeditately and I was the only person to eat a piece. (It was delicious) I feel awful when I waste figs. They are so precious.

I also got stung by a bee. Twice. He stung me twice, once on the palm of my left hand and once on my right arm. I am not mad at the bee because he was obviously in distress from the firecrackers and the cloud of smoke over our village. Also, the bee died after biting me (actually, Eric says it was a hornet, is that a bee? Or a wasp?) so I think he might have actually been burned from the firecrackers. Poor bee.

Poor me too. I get sick from bee stings. So yesterday I spent the day sleeping. Then I went to bed at 9:30 last night and woke up at 11 this morning. That's a whole lot of sleeping. A few years ago if I had done a sleeping marathon like that I would have woken up feeling much taller. This morning when I woke up I was looking forward to that feeling...but when I stood up it didn't happen and now I am fearful that my age is starting to have effects. That's a shame.

So that is all. I am not going to spend the rest of the day putting the house back together and blah blah.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com