DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2006-07-19 - 4:18 p.m.

It's really hot today. I cannot move. So I decided to sit in the semi-dark with a big glass of lemonade and learn Italian* just in case I do end up going to that writers workshop in Italy in October. (please please please let me be able to go to that workshop) So...I'm on page nine of useful expressions...and I get to the exclamations section. I find it hard to believe that they included some things in this section. Like...Ugh! In Italian apparently you would say Uh! (pronounced OOh) And, Phew! is Uff! (OOf-f) First of all, I find it hard to believe that if you said, UGH! in English people wouldn't understand you (because really, aren't those more like just sounds than actual words?) and second...this is a rather condensed book. Wouldn't it be more useful to take up space with other things? If you want to say Ouch! you say Ahi! (AH-ee) Seriously, this world would be much better if we all spoke the same language.

*Yes, yes, I should be working on Spanish since I LIVE here...not Italian since I am only (possibly) going to be there for one week. But I just CANNOT, no matter how much my conscience tells me to, muster the energy to learn Spanish. I don't know why that is. It sucks. It sucks that my desire to learn Spanish is so low and reluctant. It sucks that when I go to the gym I listen to FRENCH language tapes instead of Spanish. I suck. I suck. I suck. Maybe it's because there is no pressure to learn these other languages so learning them becomes kind of fun. Yes, that must be the reason.

Also, Italian is much more fun to speak.

Also also...I adore France so learning that langauge is something I wholly want to do. So I can BECOME French. And...I have some serious Italian blood in my body so learning Italian is kind of something I should have done a long time ago. I also have some serious Swedish blood in my body but I only learned of that recently so it doesn't count so much. Anyway, Swedish people speak more English than Americans do.

Ah...anyway.

It's hot.

Last night I watched movies in bed with the air conditioner set at ice cold after taking an ice cold bath. I was FREEZING about half way through the first movie so I pulled out an extra blanket and my Fishy Cat cuddled against me (she even gets under the covers for cold cover time) and it was FANTASTIC. I like cold. I love cold. Cold is so good. So so so so so good.

Hot sucks ass.

I can't wait to move to Iceland.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com