DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2005-09-12 - 4:22 p.m.

My cats are insect hunters. There is a pile of these dead, ugly black beetles under a tree that they have caught, had their fun with and killed. I laugh when I see them leap in the air and grab a fly or when they bound across the yard in hot pursuit of some other ugly, annoying insect.

So why today did I tackle my cat Smudge when I saw him going after a little orange butterfly. And why did I say to him, "You can't kill that silly cat, butterflies are too pretty."? That annoys me...why do we have the tendancy to save and honor the pretty things? The cute things? And also, because of that tendancy, why don't people have a problem eating the cute and pretty things? Why and how can people eat horse and rabbit and kangaroo? HOW?? Not to mention the cow...cows are awesome.

I just don't get it.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com