DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2004-11-17 - 4:16 a.m.

Yesterday at work I had this banquet of twenty people. Everything went really smoothly...until I gave them their bills. I had them numbered 1-20 and I started at person one and went around the table with their bills. Woman number 6 decided that her bill wasn't right because I had written $4.23 plus $1.33 instead of $3.99 plus $1.25....because I added tax to the individual items instead of adding it at the end because I know that soup and sandwich is $4.23 total and coffee is $1.33 total. Anyway, so instead of asking she just switched tickets with the woman three seats down and then that woman didn't think that was right so she switched and then they were all confused and everyone handed their tickets back to me and it was just chaos.

....

For the past couple nights I have been working on writting a very lengthy dissertation to people on why I feel they voted wrong when they allowed proposal one (adding an amendment to make marriage a state only a man and woman can share)to pass. I'm getting really fed up with these people. They have absolutely no answer for me WHY they feel same sex marriages shouldn't be allowed...well, other than the, "it isn't natural." They aren't even listening to themselves. Basically they are saying that if two people can't procreate naturally together than they can't be married. So I just wonder how they justify a couple in which one partner is infertile? But more than anything I think it is just wrong and sick that anyone wants to try to dictate love. It has no bearing in state law. I was never one that thought that little piece of paper stating that I am married would mean anything. But I have to tell you, it does. I felt an unexpected pride when our certificate was signed. I felt very relieved when it was signed. I felt really excited and happy when we got married. Because it was a significant symbol of someone else choosing to share their life with me, a symbol of someone wanting ot be my partner. I don't think anyone, regardless of race or sexual orientation, should have that basic human right taken away.

.....

My Squishy Cat is so wonderful. I love it when he is being particularly squishy. I woke up this morning and I was sleeping holding him as one would hold a stuffed animal when they sleep.

.....

For the last two weeks I have been waking up really late. Today I got up really early. I don't know what's going on.

.....

I've decided to start learning Spanish on my own. Since I won't be getting to Spain until March probably and will miss language training with Eric I decided to start learning here so I can at least understand SOMETHING when I get there. I bought the Pimsleur program. It's interesting. Testing everything I ever thought about learning. There are no books and it tells you to not even look at a book until you have finished the program. It's just speaking. Just like a child learns. I actually feel as though I am learning a lot. But I miss the vocabulary...when I was learning French I learned a lot of vocabulary. Not that I could ever use it because I never learned to properly put a sentence together. But I know a lot of words. I think that is why I can read French really well but can't always understand the majority of people when they speak. Anyway, I hope I am learning correctly this time. After this I am going to get the Pimsleur program for every language they make. Because it would be really cool to be able to have a very basic knowledge of a lot of languages. In two months I could get through six languages. I want Italian, Russian, German, French, Spanish and I guess Chinese.

....

Speaking of what I want...this is my Christmas list.

I want those language programs (available at Barnes and Noble).

I want a gift certificate to the place where I get facials so I can stock up on my product so I have it in Spain.

I want Abreva (again so I can stock up on it for Spain because I suspect that for the first couple months I will get lots of coldsores from stress).

I want Tigi Catwalk oatmeal and honey shampoo and conditioner. (stocking up again).

Gift certificate to Sawall's so I can get a lot of vitamins.


And I want nothing else...because I can't bring ANYTHING else with me to Spain. I already have everything I CAN bring with me packed up and ready to go. Nothing else but me, the cats and two suitcases can go. SO PLEASE EVERYONE, DON'T GET ME THINGS THAT I WILL HAVE TO LEAVE BEHIND HERE IN STORAGE.

.....

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com