DELVING BETWEEN THE TOES OF LIFE....I AM TOEJAM


2004-06-22 - 8:30 a.m.

At two am my cat Bay-Bay woke me up by snuggling compulsively against my cheek and doing that kneading thing with zeal on my bare arm, with his claws. At four am my cat Squish woke me up by nipping gently at my bare arm because he wanted to squish (hence the name Squish, this cat loves to cuddle and sleep wrapped up in my arms and if the arm isn't available he will nip until you make it so.) At seven am my cat Bubba woke me up by meowing loudly at the front door. He saw birds. Wanted out. I fell back asleep somehow, though I had planned to get up. At 8 am my eyes opened and my 23 year old cat Lucinda was sitting on my chest glaring at me like a hated enemy that she had just killed and was sitting on my chest to make sure I didn't come back to life or something. She was hungry. It was four hours past normal feeding time. This is the second time she has done this to me in the last month or so. Which is weird. Weird because Lucy used to LIVE on my bed. She was ALWAYS on my bed. Then she went through that renal failure thing and she was too weak to get up on the bed and spent a couple months on the floor, on a heating pad, in front of the heating duct. Then, when summer came and she wasn't so cold anymore, I moved her to the couch. She was not interested in the bed anymore and I was sure that she couldn't get up there anymore. But she has gotten up there twice now, to glare at me, but still doesn't come back to the bed to live. I wonder why? It just seems strange. I am GLAD that she doesn't live on the bed because honestly that cat (though I love her dearly) drives me crazy. She always rubs her wet nose on my and I hate it when animals do that. Plus, she sheds like crazy and I like only having to change my sheets once a week, I used to have to do it a few times a week unless I wanted to sleep in Siamese cat hair. Which is different than regular cat hair. It's somehow more bristly or something. Where am I going with this?

Ah...yes...I am documenting my day off. Yesterday turned out absolutely according to my hopes. And today is looking okay, except I would have liked to have had an uninterrupted night of sleep. Right now it is indeed cool outside, I have a big pot of coffee and some fruit and I am going to go outside to read for a while. It looks like it might rain, but you can also tell that it won't rain all day. Which is perfect.

I have a feeling that this is going to be the last day off where I can do whatever I want and relax, for a long time. So it is very important that nature and people cooperate with me today.

|


Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

previous - next

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
www.flickr.com